GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

Regional offices are maintained in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Supply and Services.

Defence Construction (1951) Limited. This is a Crown corporation, defined in Part VII of the Financial Administration Act and listed in Schedule "C" in the Act, which contracts for major construction and maintenance projects required by the Department of National Defence. It was incorporated May 10, 1951 under the authority of the Defence Production Act. In April 1965 control and supervision of the corporation was transferred from the Minister of Defence Production to the Minister of National Defence.

The Company's function is to obtain tenders, make recommendations regarding awards, to award and administer major construction and maintenance contracts which include supervision of construction work and the certification of contractors' progress claims for completed work.

The Company also provides technical and administrative assistance to other government departments and agencies when so required. Head office of DCL is in Ottawa and branch offices are located in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Vancouver and Lahr, Federal Republic of Germany.

Defence Research Board. The Defence Research Board, established in 1947 by an amendment to the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4), advises the Minister of National Defence on scientific matters relating to defence and evaluates the contribution of science and technology to the achievement of defence objectives. The functions of the Board were redefined on April 1, 1974 when its research and administrative activities and staff were absorbed within the framework of the Department of National Defence.

The Board consists of a full-time chairman, a vice-chairman and 12 members appointed by the Governor in Council for three-year terms. The Deputy Minister of National Defence, the President of the National Research Council and three senior officers of the Canadian Forces are ex-officio members. The Board has its headquarters in Ottawa.

Department of Agriculture. This Department was established in 1867 (SC 1868, c.53) and now operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.A-10. It undertakes work on all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Research, Health of Animals and Economics branches, and the Grain Research Laboratory; and the maintenance of standards and protection of products, by the Production and Marketing and Health of Animals branches. A new Food Systems Branch was created in 1972. The Canada Grain Act, as it pertains to the inspection, weighing, storage and transportation of grain, is administered by the Canadian Grain Commission, which is a part of the Department. Programs concerning farm income security and price stability are provided under the Crop Insurance Act, the Prairie Farm Assistance Act, the Canadian Dairy Commission Act, the Agricultural Stabilization Act and the Agricultural Products Board Act. The Agricultural Stabilization Board, the Agricultural Products Board, the Farm Credit Corporation, the Canadian Dairy Commission, the Canadian Livestock Feed Board and the National Farm Products Marketing Council report to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Department of Communications. The Department was established under Part II of the 1969 Government Organization Act and operates under authority of the Department of Communications Act (RSC 1970, c.C-24). The Minister of Communications is responsible for fostering the orderly operation and development of communications for Canada. This includes recommending national policies and programs regarding communications services for Canada, promoting the efficiency and growth of Canadian communications systems and assisting them to adjust to changing conditions and encouraging the development and introduction of new communication facilities and resources. Its responsibilities also include managing the radio frequency spectrum to permit the orderly use of radio communications, protecting Canadian interests in international telecommunications matters, and co-ordinating telecommunications services for departments and agencies of the Government of Canada.

Teleglobe Canada, the Canadian Radio-Television Commission and Telesat Canada report to Parliament through the Minister of Communications. The Canadian Transport Commission also reports through the Minister of Communications on matters pertaining to telecommunications.

Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs. This Department was established in 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-27) replacing the Department of the Registrar General of Canada. The duties, powers and functions of the Minister extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: consumer affairs; corporations and corporate securities; combines, mergers, monopolies and restraint of trade; bankruptcies and insolvencies; and patents, copyrights, trade marks and industrial design.

The functions of the Department are divided into five main areas. The Bureau of Consumer Affairs co-ordinates government activities in the field of consumer affairs; the Bureau of Corporate Affairs administers the government's corporate activities; the Bureau of Intellectual Property administers laws and regulations pertaining to patents, trade marks, industrial designs and copyrights; and the Field Operations